Jargon Busters

How do I make SEPA Transfers?

SEPA commonly stands for Single Euro Payments Area. Essentially, it is a payment integration system from the European Union (EU) that is designed to simplify bank transfers which are denominated in Euros (EUR).

What countries are in the SEPA zone?

The 36 SEPA zone countries include:

  • 27 member states of the European Union (EU): Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Republic of Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and Sweden
  • 3 countries of the European Economic Area (EEA): Norway, Liechtenstein and Iceland
  • 6 non-EEA countries, to which the geographical scope has been extended: Andorra, Monaco, San Marino, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Vatican

What does SEPA mean for personal and business money transfers?

The goal of SEPA is to make cross-border Euro money transfers within the Eurozone the same as a domestic transfer within the country you live or operate your business in.

I want to make a SEPA Euro transfer from another country. How does it work?

Sending money to a SEPA compliant Euro account to settle a trade should take no more than 0-2 working days, once your bank has approved your transfer. CurrencyTransfer works with payment partners that operate SEPA accounts across the Eurozone, for simplicity and ease of settlement.

A SEPA transfer should be free or not cost you more than a regular, local transfer.